View Full Version : fix the email address of the board
http://www.dreamcatchergames.com/forums/showthread.php?t=29039
when i tried to register i never got the email because the board is sending the email out with a from address of .con instead of .com and my mail server will reject any email from an invalid domain. I doubt i have the only mail server that does this.
TT [DC]
01-04-2007, 11:33 AM
hmmm, upon checking the setting I found that the default email addy is forums@dreamcatchergames.com and did a test registration and had the header info as:
---
Date: Thu, 4 Jan 2007 11:29:28 -0500
To: xxxxxxx
Subject: [Bulk] Action Required to Activate Membership for DreamCatcher Forums
From: "DreamCatcher Forums" <forums@dreamcatchergames.com>
---
Which has the .com domain correct.
']hmmm, upon checking the setting I found that the default email addy is forums@dreamcatchergames.com and did a test registration and had the header info as:
---
Date: Thu, 4 Jan 2007 11:29:28 -0500
To: xxxxxxx
Subject: [Bulk] Action Required to Activate Membership for DreamCatcher Forums
From: "DreamCatcher Forums" <forums@dreamcatchergames.com>
---
Which has the .com domain correct.
thats the email address its sending you guys (the admins) from. If you look at the thread i posted the link to, you'll see the email address i copied and pasted from my mail servers log file. So its not a typo on my part, its a copy and paste directly from the log files.
hmm ... ok it looks like perhaps thats its not the FROM address but rather the greeting your mail server is sending. I'm going to copy and paste the headers from the activation email i got at my gmail address. Look at the return-path header:
Return-Path: <httpd@alpha.dreamcatchergames.con>
Received: from alpha.dreamcatchergames.con ([216.138.253.130])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id f12si17167597qba.2006.12.25.14.58.45;
Mon, 25 Dec 2006 14:58:45 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: neutral (google.com: 216.138.253.130 is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of httpd@alpha.dreamcatchergames.con)
Received: from alpha.dreamcatchergames.con (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
by alpha.dreamcatchergames.con (8.12.8/8.12.8) with ESMTP id kBPNwhFJ006261
for <ilipsky@gmail.com>; Mon, 25 Dec 2006 18:58:43 -0500
Received: (from httpd@localhost)
by alpha.dreamcatchergames.con (8.12.8/8.12.8/Submit) id kBPNwhH6006259;
Mon, 25 Dec 2006 18:58:43 -0500
And here is what is in my mail servers log file:
2006-12-25 02:51:00 216.138.253.130 SMTP-IN 10.31.35.17 3064 EHLO EHLO+alpha.dreamcatchergames.con 250-xyz.com+[216.138.253.130],+this+server+offers+4+extensions W2K3STD 131 34
2006-12-25 02:51:00 216.138.253.130 SMTP-IN 10.31.35.17 3064 MAIL MAIL+From:<httpd@alpha.dreamcatchergames.con>+SIZE=1864 501+Your+domain+does+not+seem+to+be+valid.+Could+n ot+find+MX+record+for+your+domain. W2K3STD 86 57
2006-12-25 02:51:00 216.138.253.130 SMTP-IN 10.31.35.17 3064 QUIT QUIT 221+Service+closing+transmission+channel W2K3STD 42 6
so technically its not the from address thats screwing it up, but its still an invalid domain name ... i assume its just a typo.
TT [DC]
01-04-2007, 01:07 PM
>>Received: from alpha.dreamcatchergames.con
>>(localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
ahhh, so it isn't the ''from" address or anything to do with vBulletin settings. Thanks for pointing that out...I will revise the server settings.
Thanks again
PeTjA
01-04-2007, 01:34 PM
I mentioned this months before too. People seem to be registered but cant post or vote ... no reply from moderators sofar.
Also i mentioned that Ur vBulletin version isnt up to date (for months too). Isnt it easy to update it?
TT [DC]
01-04-2007, 01:53 PM
I know re the update, I have had the zip for 2 months now, but the keeper of the apache server has not upgraded PHP to 4.3.3 yet, until then I can't upgrade vBulletin, inquired about that today and re the sendmail settings, hopefully this can be resolved asap. Its an easy upgrade for PHP, my dev server has the newest version of PHP and vBulletin on it here at work and it was no problem. Just the production server has to be upgraded <waits patiently>
ok. You can feel free to delete the other two registration attempts i made - username is merk and merk2....and feel free to rename this account to merk if you want :)
PeTjA
01-04-2007, 02:05 PM
It would be sad to know that other sites get hacked cause they are mentioned in the PK resouces thread.
By turkish hackers at the polish fansite, french fansite (last year) and yesterday a attack at darkscorner. All sites are mentioned in the resource thread.
TT [DC]
01-04-2007, 02:25 PM
ok, email .con/.com problem has been resolved
']ok, email .con/.com problem has been resolved
very cool, and thank you for renaming my login.